Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card REVIEW

I have always loved Fantasy fiction. But, my first allegiance will always be with Science Fiction. Before I even touched a Fantasy novel, I read sci-fi (mostly the Star Wars novels by Kevin J. Anderson). As I got older, I tried going back to Science Fiction again, but there was a problem.

Click image to buy from Amazon!

I hate Science.

With most modern Sci-fi novels for older readers, one can get easily lost in a sea of techno babble. It wasn’t until a few years back that I remembered why I read Star Wars novels. Star Wars was more about “soft” sciences, like Psychology, History, Religion, and Sociology.

In my search for “soft” Sci-fi , I read books like Dune, 1984, Fareheit 451, and I, Robot. I devoured all these books and others greedily. And I wanted more.

Then I found Ender’s Game.

Ender’s Game takes place in the far and not too distant future. It’s a Utopian like future, where the world is united as one government. This Utopia is threatened when the insectoid aliens called Buggers invade

The aliens are beaten back, led by the famous Mazer Rackham. And now, with a third war looming 70 years later, the human race needs another hero like Rackham. So in hopes of finding another savior, the military takes gifted children away from their families, and trains them to fight.

It may sound all cutsey, but this book is more for readers older than 14.

It’s very hard not to spoil this book. Even though the description may seem generic, the story is far from being the same worn out plot. The characters are far from being the same worn out tropes. The twists and turns are many, and always shocked me. It made me want to keep reading, to uncover the shocking true motives of the characters.

Overall, I give the book 5 out of 5 stars! I have a feeling this book will still be known years from now, and be listed among the best Sci-fi novels of all time.

The book is available in Print, and for most ebook readers.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card REVIEW

  1. I think it already is in the list of some of the greatest SF books of all time.

    Read any Heinlein books? If you choose carefully, he has some really good soft science ones.

    The Asimov books I’ve read have been soft science as well, especially the Foundation trilogy.

What do you think?

