At The Queen’s Command by Michael Stackpole REVIEW

Click image to buy from Amazon.com!

I’m not much of a fan of historical novels that take place in the 1700’s , mainly because I have heard the story of what happened before and after the American Revolution plenty of times. There are only so many ways to present what happened.

But, what if an author made his own version of what happened. Say, by adding magic, changing the names of countries, and adding dragons? That is what Michael Stackpole (Yes, that Michael Stackpole.) has done with At The Queen’s Command.

The story begins in 1763. Captain Owen Strake of the Queen’s Wurmriders, is sent on a mission to survey the Mystrian (American) frontier. What begins as a simple exploratory mission, quickly becomes a quest to stop a madman from taking over the land.

The book is a little slow starting, but the witty banter between characters will keep you reading. Stackpole has a great gift for dialogue. The book really starts to get good at page 100. What starts out very political, quickly turns into a fast and furious adventure novel. Rather than the usual medieval weaponry in most fantasies, the weapons are accurate for the 1700’s. Muskets, Revolvers, Cannons, etc.

Magic is very present. Stackpole has created a great magic system, one that fits in well with the time period. It’s deeply woven into society like technology is nowadays. He also has made it so the magic effects the user in some way, and no one is an all-powerful invincible magus. He also depicts well on how radical the Church of Norisle, uh, I mean England acted in the 1700’s.

The writing style is a lot like a book from the 1700’s. The language is easy to understand, but he uses some words that were used back in the day.

Stackpole proves again that he is so much more than a writer of fan-fiction. I’m excited to read the next book!

Overall

I give the book 5 out of 5 stars! Recommended for fans of Naomi Novik and Chris Evans.

This book is available in all popular ebook formats, and in print.  

Advertisements

Talion: Revenant by Michael Stackpole REVIEW

Click image to buy from Michael Stackpole's estore!

By Jake Scholl

Premise: Nolan, a member of the Talions, a group who’s mission is to fight for justice. Nolan will have his beliefs tested , but will he succumb to his wants or do what’s right?

Review

You may know of Michael Stackpole if you’ve ever read Star Wars or Battle Tech novels. Talion : Revenant is the first novel Stackpole has ever written. But wasn’t the first book that was published. Back in the 1980s, when Double Day read Talion, they said it was too long of a book for an unknown writer, so they had him write a different book, which became Once A Hero. Then they published Talion: Revenant.

Then, 30 years later, Stackpole broke his relationship with Double Day, thus his books went out of print, and the only copies of his fantasy novels availible were used ones. With the advent of e Readers, Stackpole decided to self publish Talion, and all of his writing that had been collecting dust.

Stackpole has written an amazing piece of fantasy, regardless of how it was published. The characters are realistic, and have very hard choices to make. The characters motivations are clear and concise. This makes for perfect reading.

The plot is very fast and very furious, action scenes are short yet pack a punch. Stackpole starts threads of plot , and finishes them with ease like a well oiled machine. Fans of Salvatore and Goodkind will devour this books in a few days.

Verdict

I give Talion: Revenant 5 out of 5 stars! If your looking for an amazing e Reader fantasy novel, I recommend this book!

Note: Available for most e Readers.