Blood Skies by Steven Montano REVIEW

11439413Over the past few years, Post-Apocalyptic novels, shows, and films have captured many people’s’ imaginations. Though the usual cause has always been the same: man mistreating the environment , nuking everything , et cetera. But what if the calamity was magic entering our world ?

Sounds like a cheesy concept, but Montano makes it work. He also combines the military fiction and horror genres, with fantasy but it doesn’t feel out of place. The characters are an absolute treat to read. The villains aren’t too bad either.

Also no whiny kids in the plot is a plus! (Looking at you Divergent !) I really hope more post-apocalyptic tales follow suit.

Overall , I give it 4 stars. If you like The Dark Tower series, and novels like Starship Troopers, Blood Skies is for you.

Jurassic Park 3D mini review

Welcome to Jurassic Park! 😀

When an older movie that was always good without 3D is converted to 3D, most people are apprehensive about paying to see it in theaters, when you can rent it on DVD. Especially a classic movie like Jurassic Park that most have seen at least once. (If you haven’t rent it ASAP! It’s a modern classic.)

Thankfully, this remaster doesn’t detract from the film but instead adds to it. The dinosaurs, especially the meat eating ones, look more frightening in 3D than they did in the original. Surprisingly, they didn’t have to retouch very much of the special effects. This 20 year-old film had held up incredibly well.

The other great thing about this version of JP, is the sound. Maybe it was just because I was in the IMAX, I don’t know, but the sound seemed like it was much better. The roar of the T.Rex was louder than I remember, and the sounds of dinos moving through the forest was thrilling and I almost wet my pants a few times.

Overall

I give this movie 5 out of 5 stars! You won’t regret paying extra for this movie in 3D.

Update 1/26/2013

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything, and many of you have probably thought this blog was dead. And I’m here to reassure you that is not so.

Currently I’m reading The Nameless Dwarf by D.P Prior, and will post a review when I finish. Due to the crazy January weather, editing my novel, and various other things have slowed me down. *cough* *cough* Skyrim! *cough* *cough*

You learn more about Prior and his novels HERE and enter a book giveaway for The Nameless Dwarf  HERE, which ends on the 31st.

Starforrgers By Ken McConnell REVIEW

Click image to buy from Amazon.com!

This is the third Ken McConnell book I’ve read and  the second I’ve reviewed for this blog. Here is the link to the Tyrmia review.

Starforgers is the first book in McConnell’s Star Trilogy. Starforgers is not related to Tyrmia in terms of story, but both tales are in the same universe.

The story is an origin story. It takes place many years before Tyrmia, at the beginning  of the Great War between the alien Votainions and Humans. This book is not the first one that was written in the trilogy. The first McConnell wrote was Starstrikers. The author  pulled a George Lucas by starting in the middle. If you read Starforgers first, then read Starstrikers, you’ll learn a lot more about the past in McConnell’s universe.

I’m not going to spoil the book, so let’s focus on the Writing, Characters, and Plot.

The writing was good for the most part. Short, quick and to the point. There were a few misspellings here and there, but not enough to make me stop reading.

The characters were fun to read. I got a clear idea on how they thought, and acted. Most of all, I found out why the characters acted the way they did. The dialogue between characters was realistic and fun to read. Also, like with Tyrmia,  the female characters are never damsels in distress. Rather. they are strong, and fight back. I think in Sci-fi and Fantasy too many women are helpless.  This book also debuted Androids as main characters. I think if C3P0 read this book, he would be proud. 🙂

The plot was probably the most complex the author has attempted. All the characters by the end of the tale cross paths, and the story arcs are wrapped up by the end of the book. The ending made me very excited for the last book in the series.

Overall this book was good. I give it 4 out of 5 stars!

Available only for the Kindle and Kindle Apps.

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini REVIEW

Inheritance Cycle in reading order:

Eragon

Eldest

Brisingr

Inheritance

Click link to purchase from Amazon.com!

I’ve been waiting for the final book in the Inheritance Cycle ever since I read Eragon in 5th grade. And now, 8 years later, the last book is out!

I know, most of you thought the series is called the Inheritance Trilogy. When Eragon first came out, the series was supposed to be a trilogy. Well, when Paolini wrote book 3, Brisingr, the book ended up being too massive. So, like many publishers of fantasy do, they divided the massive book into two books. Thus, the series became the Inheritance Cycle.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s go to the review shall we? In this review, I don’t want to give any spoilers whatsoever. I know I would be ticked off if someone spoiled the last book of a series for me.

In terms of plot, it’s like Star Wars had a love child with Lord of the Rings. If you love both of those franchises, you’ll love Paolini’s work. But, the book is by no means unoriginal, the twists the author adds make the series very interesting.

The only problem with the plot I had was the pacing of the novel. The book drags on in the middle, and close to the end. I encourage you to keep reading when this happens. You won’t be disappointed if you keep reading.

The great characterization is what kept me reading, and the fast and furious combat. If you love reading fantasies with accurate middle ages warfare, this is the perfect book for you.

Overall, I give the book 4 out of 5 stars! Buy it!

Available for most popular e Readers and in print! 

Talion: Revenant by Michael Stackpole REVIEW

Click image to buy from Michael Stackpole's estore!

By Jake Scholl

Premise: Nolan, a member of the Talions, a group who’s mission is to fight for justice. Nolan will have his beliefs tested , but will he succumb to his wants or do what’s right?

Review

You may know of Michael Stackpole if you’ve ever read Star Wars or Battle Tech novels. Talion : Revenant is the first novel Stackpole has ever written. But wasn’t the first book that was published. Back in the 1980s, when Double Day read Talion, they said it was too long of a book for an unknown writer, so they had him write a different book, which became Once A Hero. Then they published Talion: Revenant.

Then, 30 years later, Stackpole broke his relationship with Double Day, thus his books went out of print, and the only copies of his fantasy novels availible were used ones. With the advent of e Readers, Stackpole decided to self publish Talion, and all of his writing that had been collecting dust.

Stackpole has written an amazing piece of fantasy, regardless of how it was published. The characters are realistic, and have very hard choices to make. The characters motivations are clear and concise. This makes for perfect reading.

The plot is very fast and very furious, action scenes are short yet pack a punch. Stackpole starts threads of plot , and finishes them with ease like a well oiled machine. Fans of Salvatore and Goodkind will devour this books in a few days.

Verdict

I give Talion: Revenant 5 out of 5 stars! If your looking for an amazing e Reader fantasy novel, I recommend this book!

Note: Available for most e Readers.

The Giver by Lois Lowry REVIEW

The Giver, recipient of the 1994 Newberry Medal, and considered by the American Library Association as one of the “100 Most Frequently Challenged Books of 1990-2000”.
The book is about a teen boy named Jonas who lives in a perfect community, a community that is sheltered from the world. In this community everyone has a special job; a job the council appoints them. The day called the Ceremony of Twelve. Jonas is 11 and his day to get his job is coming soon. He has no idea what his job will be. At the ceremony, he is called last. At the end, he finds out he’s chosen to be the Receiver. The next day, Jonas meets his trainer, the old Receiver.
Receivers “receive” memory from each other, and from generations of receivers past. With these memories, the Receiver gives advice to the council in making important decisions.
Jonas is shocked by the memories, he feels and sees things he hasn’t seen. He even feels pain, which he’s never felt. He also learns of the startling truths in his community, which makes him want to escape, and he comes up with a plan to escape; a plan that could get him killed.
The narration is told in third person. It will remind many readers of Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 and George Orwell’s 1985 in the way that it deals with society, censorship, etc.
Lowry uses simple language (unlike Fahrenheit 451) but it also could be the book’s downfall if you like more expressive writers such as Michael Moorcock and Terry Brooks.
The thing I enjoyed most about the book was the plot, especially when Jonas learns the dark secrets of what his community does behind everyone’s back. I hope this book will give you the same suspense and chills as it gave me.