Tyrmia by Ken McConnell REVIEW

Premise

A star-fighter has her ship shot down on an alien planet, filled with savage aliens. Will she be able to survive?

 Review

Click image to buy from Amazon.com!

This is an excellent book! I honestly didn’t know what to think, because after all, it’s not published by a huge publishing conglomerate, but rather is self-published. The standard has just been raised. It even surpassed all self and traditionally published sci-fi books out this year.

The plot is a classic star-trooper marooned on planet, live among natives, befriends natives, etcetera. But it’s a plot with something to say. The book explores Imperialism (has tons of similarities of the Boer war.) not in a way previous novels I read present it, but rather makes the tale human. It was stunning. And there were tons of plot twists that I never saw coming.

Even the star pilot in the story was excellent. She was a she (a shocker in a heavily macho demographic.) and she wasn’t a stoic, unflinching killer with a gun. She was like a living, breathing person. I also loved the fact she was a smart Aleck. A great break.

And in the matter of the writing quality, the writing is short, crisp and fast. Exactly how I like it. There is a little techno babble here and there, you either like it, or you hate it.  And not  one misspelling , goes to show the quality of the book.

Also, thank you Mr. McConnell for the free reviewers copy!

Verdict

I absolutely loved the book. It’ll appeal to fans of Avatar and Isaac Asimov. 5 out of 5 stars!

Note: The book is only in eBook format for now, if you don’t have a Kindle, Nook, Kindle software, or Nook software,  you can buy it in various formats from SmashWords.com

Advertisements